Life was a cabaret in the Ballhaus Riviera

The Ballhaus Riviera

1910-gesellschaftshaus-gruenauThe Riviera Ballhaus was built in 1895 and became a hotspot in the 1930s. It survived WWII undamaged.falling under the slight disrepair during the DDR years they were put under administration.

P1000108After the German Reunification, failing to find a buyer over the years ,the buildings are at the verge of collapsing.

DSC_1303Sometime in March 2013,  I made my way to Grünau south east of Berlin next to the Langersee Lake, it was a very cold morning snowing most of the time, as I arrived at the Ballrooms it  was glistening with the sun shinning on the terrace of the building,  made my way around the side of the building next to the lake and found a hole in the fence.

The inside of the ballrooms are in a very sorry poor state, and it doesn’t look like it will last much longer, part of the roof of one building as fallen in,as I went up the dodgy stairway I came to a room and it looked like a film set for a disaster movie with stuff hanging from the ceiling old peeling walls,heard a door slam behind me made me jump a bit, on my way out I got lost because of the door that had shut.

I also went into the cellar and under the stage area of the buildings,for a look around then I thought to myself its not a good idea to be down here as that dodgy roof could fall in anytime.so made my way out of the building, it is very sad that this building with all its history of going through two world wars, will fall down or be knocked down as its just been left to rot for so long.

 

P1000088

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

tumblr_mpqnmehfWb1stg79zo1_r1_540

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

tumblr_mpqnkoMUCV1stg79zo1_r1_540

tumblr_mpqnj727yc1stg79zo1_r1_540

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

tumblr_mpqnnuduhU1stg79zo1_r1_540

tumblr_mpqpq51iPl1stg79zo1_540

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DSC_1304

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Life was a cabaret in the Ballhaus Riviera

Leave a Reply

