Cold war munitions bunkers – Sachsenhausen

DSC_0730

In a forest near to Sachsenhausen concentration camp lay hidden the munitions bunkers of the Nationale Volksarmee.

Nationale Volksarmee – National Peoples Army munitions bunkers, was built after the Russians liberated the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp in April 1945.

DSC_0729

After a very long and grueling walk from Oranianburg Bahnhof , I came to the woods where the bunkers were hidden, after about 15 minutes of walking through the woods I came to a very old barbed wire fence,

After walking around the fence I found a gate way that was open.

As soon as I was in there, strait in front of me was one of the munitions bunkers, these bunkers was everywhere, there must have been 30 or 40 of them.

DSC_0728

carrying on deeper and deeper into the complex, I was taking lots of pictures, not taking any notice of which direction that I had come from, realizing that it would be getting dark in a hour or so, needed to get the hell out of there, but every direction looked the same, shit where do I go.

Always have a compass with me, and thought great get my bearings from that, but would you believe it, took it out of my bag and the fucking needle had detached its self from the center of the compass, what do I do now, started to walk on for about 10 minutes or so, all  I could see was more and more bunkers, in the distance.

lucky for me I could here traffic in the far distance, so headed for that, it has really learned me a lesson about urban exploring, and that is to have a good compass and not a cheap one, this was in February this year and you would not survive the night in them temperatures, was so glad to get out of that Forrest.

DSC_0733

DSC_0732

IMG_20140313_003534

DSC_0736

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DSC_0738

DSC_0739

DSC_0735

DSC_0740

DSC_0741

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

